Mockingjay Part 2 – Accurate, but it could be better.

Mockingjay Part 2 (movie review)

Release Date: November 20, 2015
Length:
2 hours 17 minutes
Rating: ★★★☆☆

video-undefined-26c4a94f00000578-60_636x358

In 2012 I watched the first Hunger Games movie. I hadn’t read the book yet, and didn’t intend to either. But one day, out of curiosity or perhaps boredom, I finally picked up The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. That day, I…

– walked around while clutching the book and reading
– read while I ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner- didn’t do any homework, (or household responsibilities)
– finished the book, and immediately picked up Catching Fire

I don’t believe that the series is one of the best, speaking on a literary sense. But, it was addicting.

And alas, the franchise is over.

The movies are an extremely accurate representation of the books, perfect for fans. The right scenes were cut out, and the best and most important scenes were added.

But, the movie still wasn’t perfect.

For one, I think I’ll always have a slight problem with the characters. I don’t, and never will, like Peeta or Gale. Maybe it’s because I watched the movie first, and didn’t love the actors, or maybe it’s just that I never connected with either of them.

I can say, though, that I liked Katniss. Jennifer Lawrence portrays her perfectly. Katniss is a strong, yet quiet heroine. She does what she believes in, and although she goes through so many struggles, she keeps her head up and keeps on living.

Also, I would’ve liked more of an ending. The movie ending was slightly abrupt, and I didn’t feel like it was over yet.

Finally, although I understand they split Mockingjay mostly for money purposes, it was still completely unnecessary. Mockingjay Part 1 was a slow, dissatisfying movie and part 2 wasn’t exactly fast paced, and then you have to wait a year for the next movie? Not to mention, I haven’t reread the series in a long time, so I remembered virtually nothing from the first part.

The Hunger Games movies and books are definitely not high art. But I do believe that they mean, and are, more than just a thrilling series. They teach you, in a way, to be better to our own fragile world. And I believe that’s a good message for anyone these days, young adult or not.

3 thoughts on “Mockingjay Part 2 – Accurate, but it could be better.

Leave a Reply

