The Martian – A breath of fresh air from YA.

The Martian by Andy Weir

Genre: Sci-Fi // Adult Fiction
Publication Date: February 11, 2014
Pages: 369
Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’ surface, completely alone, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive — and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark’s not ready to quit. Armed with nothing but his ingenuity and his engineering skills — and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength – he embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive, using his botany expertise to grow food and even hatching a mad plan to contact NASA back on Earth.

As he overcomes one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next, Mark begins to let himself believe he might make it off the planet alive – but Mars has plenty of surprises in store for him yet.

Grounded in real, present-day science from the first page to the last, yet propelled by a brilliantly ingenious plot that surprises the reader again and again, The Martian is a truly remarkable thriller: an impossible-to-put-down suspense novel that manages to read like a real-life survival tale.

Synopsis-1

Guess who stayed up until 3 A.M. last night (or rather morning), reading?

giphy1

#ProudBookaholic

I needed The Martian. I’ve been reading a lot of Young-Adult recently, and I really need a breath of fresh air.

For a while, I’m not gonna lie, I pushed off reading The Martian. It wasn’t til the movie came out, until I finally forced myself to give it a shot. Good job self.

The Martian was a fast-paced, humorous, and thank-god-I’m-not-him, type of book.

Mark Watney often talked about sciency shit, which my parents would probably be glad to hear about. Frankly, I didn’t understand a lot of it. Andy Weir, the author, seems like a pretty genius guy, and probably had a blast writing a book which confused the fuck out of me, and others I’m sure.

Mark, not only was he an awesome botanist and mechanical engineer, he was also hilarious. I had to laugh into my pillow all throughout the night so my parents wouldn’t hear me.

Here’s a few quotes from the book:

 

[The guys from NASA]
“He’s stuck out there. He thinks he’s totally alone and that we all gave up on him. What kind of effect does that have on a man’s psychology?” He turned back to Venkat. “I wonder what he’s thinking right now.”

LOG ENTRY: SOL 61 [Mark]
How come Aquaman can control whales? They’re mammals! Makes no sense.”

 

“…please watch your language. Everything you type is being broadcast live all over the world.”
[12:15] WATNEY: Look! A pair of boobs -> (.Y.)”

 

“[11:49] JPL: What we can see of your planned cut looks good. We’re assuming the other side is identical. You’re cleared to start drilling.
[12:07] Watney: That’s what she said.
[12:25] JPL: Seriously, Mark? Seriously?”

 

rolling-on-the-floor-laughing-animated-gif-02

In a nutshell, The Martian was an action-packed, fun book to read. It lived up to the hype for me, which is rare. I would definitely recommend it! Now I have to go watch the move. ^-^

11 thoughts on “The Martian – A breath of fresh air from YA.

    • You should! It’s a really enjoyable book. 🙂 I actually just watched the movie, and I’m disappointed from an adaptation standpoint, but it was a fairly good movie.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha thanks Paige!! I loved that section and laughed for a while before I returned to reading.

      P.S. It’s ok because I’m weird anyways 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m glad you liked it! I enjoyed this book a lot too, even though the science stuff flew WAY over my head!
    I recently went to see the movie and I really enjoyed it, and liked it a bit more than the book itself! I hope you enjoy it when you see it! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually saw the movie already, and I’m slightly disappointed because it had the potential to be hilarious like the book, but instead I found it really serious. I also thought in the movie the proportions of the plot were weird. For example, in the book, Mark spends so much time preparing to go to the Ares 4 landing spot, but in the movie he just leaves without any preparation.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

