The Christopher Killer : Boohoo.

The Christopher Killer (Forensic Mysteries #1) by Alane Ferguson

The Christopher Killer (Forensic Mysteries, #1)Synopsis

Genre: Mystery/ YA/Suspense
Publication Date : May 4th 2006
Pages: 288 pages
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 


Synopsis

Fascinated by forensics, seventeen-year-old Cameryn Mahoney persuades her father, the county coroner in sleepy Silverton, CO, to take her on as his assistant. But she never expects her first case to involve the death of a friend! Rachel Geller, a beautiful young waitress, is found strangled in a field with a Christopher medal around her neck—clearly marking her as the fourth victim of a serial killer. Cameryn is determined to help find Rachel’s killer, and attending the autopsy gives her the first clue. But as she follows her instincts and gets closer to the killer, Cameryn suddenly finds herself on the verge of becoming his fifth victim!


Synopsis-1

Suspense, my ass. This is more like a book where a teenager is a detective-slash-medical examiner wannabe. The execution of characters were lame and the mystery isn’t exactly mysterious.

I love forensic science and I watch a lot of shows where Medical Examiners slice up dead bodies to determine the cause of death and all that shit. I also know that not because I watch CSI and read crime books, I’m already an expect when it comes to science stuff. Hell no. I’m not an expert in that thing but I’m expert is spotting lame books.

I don’t have a problem with the plot. In fact, I love it. I’m excited to read this one because *gasp* a 17 years old girl is now an assistant to a Coroner!

Cameryn was said to be a smart girl who borderlines the genius level. That’s true. She is well versed when it comes to the process of autopsy. The science stuff in this book is well appreciated by yours truly. In fact, I have a mini orgasm when during the slicing and dicing and all the gorey stuff was being done, the ME gave us a commentary on whatis and whatnots.

*Don’t be alarmed.I’m not sick. Just weird.*

But the real reason why I gave this book a 2 star are the following:

Characters:

Cameryn is smart but she lacks common sense.

For all the life of me, I can’t comprehend why a supposed to be smart girl would go into the hotel room of the murderer (that she suspected) to find some incriminating evidence to nail his ass without even thinking of having a back up!

What also bothers me is that, yes she’s well versed in forensic science and all that geeky stuff but REALLY. I can’t believe that she discover things that a seasoned ME and police officers can’t. Cameryn, you’re a 17 years old teenager who despite being smart is still a teenager. Get real.

Her friends (Adam and Lyric) are supposed to make the story more interesting but they’re useless. Her father lacks some character. The police has no spunk. The murderer is boring.

The mystery:

Women are being killed and the killer left a Saint Christopher medal in the crime scene. That was the MO.

Can you see the potential, BECAUSE I CAN. This is something that should have been explosive and thrilling.

I was like:

But nooo. The potential was there but the story was poorly done that it left a bitter taste in my mouth.

I was waiting for the author to give the mystery some twist and turns. What I got instead was a rushed simple ending when in fact the author made the crime more “difficult” than what it actually was.

Ugh. This is a let down. I’m not sure if I’ll read the 2nd book or what because the first book scar me for life.

I’m on a crime books spree this week so if you guys know any good crime book where people randomly sprout medical words, you can recommend it to me. 🙂

 

Paige Bookdragon

2 thoughts on “The Christopher Killer : Boohoo.

Leave a Reply

