January Reading Wrap-up

R.jpg
Wow! I can’t believe the month is already over. January has been not only a great month, but I also read a lot of books! In total, 17. In this post, I’ll mention every book I read (chronologically) and give a short review + my rating.

16000044


Rating: 3.5/5 stars

The first book I read of the year was Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes, aka the 2nd book in the popular Falling Kingdoms series. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll just say that it was a really fast-paced and entertaining book, but it had WAAAAAAY too much instalove and romancey shit. Plus, the story was super cliche. But again, like I said, it was addicting to read.

 

unwholly
Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Unwholly, which was also another 2nd book in a series, was my second read of the year. I found it to be really easy to follow, yet thought provoking. I really like this series thus far.

 

 

 

11408650
Rating: 2.5/5

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was mediocre for the hype, and while I flew through it, I found that the story was super cliche, and some of the characters were quite annoying.

 

 

 

walkonearthastranger-264x400
Rating: 3/5 stars

A good book, with good premises, and good characters, but there was no plot.

 

 

 
17342700
Rating: 4.5/5 stars

The 3rd book in the Falling Kingdoms series.

Super super epic and fun to read, but again, like Rebel Spring, too much romance and cliches for my taste.

 

 

512o9fu0kgl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
Rating: 3/5 stars

Fun book, but waaaaaaaaay too cliche dystopian premises. I really liked the main character though, she was kind of funky and different.

 

 

 

the-alloy-of-law-by-brandon-sanderson-uk
Rating: 4/5 stars

Book #4 in the Mistborn series.

Really sad I couldn’t award one of my favorite authors 5 stars. I wasn’t a huge fan of the main character, and I thought the story moved kind of slow.

 

 

a1tjj0zjgul
Rating: 5/5 stars

My first 5 star book of many to come! I loved Rick Riordan’s new novel, unlike many others. It was a refreshing break from typical YA, and romance.

 

 

 

18189606
Rating: 4/5 stars

I actually reread this book, because I didn’t feel like reading anything else. 😄 But I loved it the 2nd time around as well, although my rating didn’t really change.

 

 

 

20640755
Rating: 4/5 stars

My friend Kimi got me this book for my birthday, and I really liked it! It was cliche, but I really liked the main character… And that ending O.O

 

 

 

18140047
Rating: 5/5 stars

I gave this 5 stars because I sobbed at the end of it, and I thought it had a nice message. I have to say though, the main character was pretty bitchy, and some parts of the story were mediocre, but whatever.. 😄

 

 

simonvs_quote_new
Rating: 5/5 stars

I have a review up on this blog so…yeah go check it out. *winks at self promo*

 

 

 

 

16279856


Rating: 3/5 stars

I read The Eye of Minds all in one sitting (which I rarely do nowadays). The writing was easy to read, and the story was enjoyable to a certain extent. The MC was really bitchy though, and I was confused on a lot of the story.

 

 

 
tumblr_m6qg4udu2j1qjr09w
Rating: 4/5 stars

Entertaining book but the MC was super irritating.

 

 

 

13597728
Rating: 2/5 stars

I was recommended Aslyum by the girl whose locker is next to mine, and I was pretty disappointed. It wasn’t scary really at all, and the ending was stupid.

 

 
nimona_final
Rating: 4/5 stars

Fun and cute graphic novel, although the drawings could’ve been better.

 

 

 

17342701
Rating: 5/5 stars

Book 4 in the Falling Kingdoms series.

Fuck all the annoying tropes I hated during the rest of the series. Frozen Tides was so epic and awesome I couldn’t not give it 5 stars.

 

 


That’s it! I hope you guys liked reading about my crap long post that took a shit load of time to make…XD

Comment your favorite book of the month! ^-^

12 thoughts on “January Reading Wrap-up

  1. The first time I heard about The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, people really seemed to like it, but now most of the reviews I see are a bit negative. What happened?! Anyway, you read some amazing books. I haven’t read them, but they sound amazing!

    Like

  2. I read the first book in the Fallen Kingdoms series this month. And I have a feeling that I’m gonna like the rest of the series a lot. Thanks for the short snippets on each one. I also really like Eye of Minds. I read it really fast too, but I agree that it was a bit confusing at points. Great post and really wish I had your speedy reading skills! I only got through five books this month…

    Like

    • Aha, I’m trying to pick up the pace for my reading for the next few months, because over the entire summer I will be traveling in China and Malaysia + visiting relatives and I will have almost no time to read! I have no clue how I’ll finish my 150 book challenge… 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, well I wish you luck! I used to read more than 10 a month then life happened and my current average is about 5 or 6. I’m trying to work on making that larger though. I actually set my goal at 100 books this year but at this rate I don’t think that’s gonna happen so I moved it down to 75. I hope you can reach your goal!
        😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

