Review: The Bands of Mourning

The Bands of Mourning (Mistborn#6) by Brandon Sanderson

bands-of-mourning-by-brandon-sanderson-cover
Genre: Adult/Fantasy
Publication Date: January 26, 2015
Pages: 336
Rating: ★★★★★

With The Alloy of Law and Shadows of Self, Brandon Sanderson surprised readers with a New York Times bestselling spinoff of his Mistborn books, set after the action of the trilogy, in a period corresponding to late 19th-century America.

Now, with Bands of Mourning, Sanderson continues the story. The Bands of Mourning are the mythical metalminds owned by the Lord Ruler, said to grant anyone who wears them the powers that the Lord Ruler had at his command. Hardly anyone thinks they really exist. But now a kandra researcher has returned to Elendel with images that seem to depict the Bands, as well as writings in a language that no one can read. Waxillium Ladrian is recruited to travel south to the city of New Seran to investigate, and along the way he discovers hints that point to the true goals of his Uncle Edwarn and the shadowy organization known as The Set.

imageedit_16_8575660977

You know how hard it is to write a review for a book that you love. I know some of you has experienced this so I’m sorry in advance because this review would be an incoherent rambling of a lunatic.

330 years after that “shit that went down” on the Hero of Ages, Scadrial ( formerly known as the Land of Abundant Ashes) is now teeming with electricity and technology. Technically, just imagine the love child of Victorian Era and Wild Wild West with Allomancy (you get the idea). In this world,we have Waxillium “Wax” Ladrian (Lord of the Ladrian House and is a lawman),  Wayne (who is just pure awesome and is Wax’s BFF) and Marasi (she’s okay.)

This is the third book in the Wax and Wayne’s Adventure in Scadrial (no,this is not the official title) and sooo many things have happened that I can’t talk about unless you’ve already read the books.

I love this series.I know that a lot of people are disappointed that it’s different than the first trilogy but I think it’s good that it was written that way. If “The Wax and Wayne’s Adventure in Scadrial Trilogy”  became exactly like “The Trilogy of So Much Feels” then I would have just compared them and be bitter about it because the 2 trilogies were helluva awesome the same way that pizza and pecan pie are both good but in an entirely different way.

After reading this book, I have to suppress my fangirling because my friends aren’t finished with the book yet. *sideway glare at Mario because he’s not finished yet*

 

The Bromance between Wax and Wayne is one of the best things that Sanderson gave in this book.How many male MCs do you know that has an amazing platonic relationship with each other? Wax and Wayne’s bromance were the best.

“Sure, sure,”Wayne said.”It’s okay,mate. Most folks put on a little weight as they hit their twilight years.’S natural and all.”

“If I shot you,” Wax said,”nobody would blame me.They’d probably just say, “Wow. You lasted that long?I’d have shot him years ago.’ Then they’d buy me a pint.”

Of course, the characters really grow in this book. One example is Steris (Wax’s fiancee).

Yes, I didn’t like her in the first book.I was #teamMarasi at first. Then book two came and she has this wonderful moment with Wax that made me change sides immediately. Then in this book, everyone is gushing about her because SHE’S SO BADASS SHE ROCKS!!

I’m not sure about you guys,  but I’m shipping these two.

Then, how I can forget? Wayne has a potential shipmate in this book!!Gaaaah!

I won’t tell who’s Wayne’s potential girlfriend is, you have to read the book.

Then out of the blue,B.S gave us another shocking revelation.Like “What?What the hell is that?”

The ending killed me.I can’t believe B.S ended the book that way. Oh wait,I can. Now I can’t wait for the next book,damn you Sanderson.

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Bands of Mourning

Leave a Reply

