Discussion: An issue I have with the bookish community.

LHey guys! It’s Yasmin.

Usually, I’m not a very pessimistic person. I’d prefer to see the glass half full rather than half empty. But that said, I mean usually.

I love being part of such an amazing bookish community. I’ve made tons of awesome friends, like Paige, and I’ve been able to express my inner fangirl. I love watching BookTube, reviewing books, sharing opinions, hearing other people’s opinions, blogging, and all the other perks that this community has. However, I can’t help but noticing one thing that bothers me so much. And that is, the expectation that you have to buy your books.

I would love to say that I don’t feel pressured to start buying more books. But then I’d be lying. I just feel since everyone else buys their books, that I should too. Because hauling a library book isn’t “cool”. And the truth is, before I joined this community, I could care less about whether I read library books or books I physically bought.

Please don’t take this as I think you’re a bad person if you buy your books. It’s totally up to you what you spend your money on.

Am I the only one who notices this? Who feels this way? Please leave your thoughts in the comments so we can discuss!

Happy reading πŸ™‚

PERFECT (1)

 

34 thoughts on “Discussion: An issue I have with the bookish community.

  1. Hmm… I can’t say that I’ve felt the pressure. I’ve always been a book buyer, except of course when I was too young to have my own money. However, lately I’ve been getting more and more excited about going to the library once I go back home. I can’t wait. My library has changed so much, I can’t wait to see it.

    Like

  2. Hmm, I never thought about that. I love buying books and make book haul posts for fun. I never considered that I could be contributing to social pressure to buy the books one reads. :/

    I certainly don’t intend it to look that way and hope nobody else does either. Just keep doing what you’re doing. Libraries are an extremely valuable facet of our society, so people SHOULD continue to get their books from libraries.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t buy very many books, because frankly, I prefer to spend my money on other things. I will only buy books that I’ve previously loved. The way I see it is, “Why would I risk wasting money on a book I haven’t read that I may hate?” (Of course that’s only happened once or twice, but you never know! Haha.) I just like to go to the library or OverDrive for most of my reading. Great post, Yasmin! ^.^

    Like

  4. I haven’t felt this pressure, but in my first book haul post (I only have two) I included library books πŸ˜€ I totally think it counts.

    The way you buy books is probably how I should buy books too (only get books I already know I like) but alas, I just can’t resist πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When I first discovered BookTube a few years ago I wanted to buy ALL the books. I did feel a bit of pressure, as I wanted to read all the “popular” books that everyone seemed to be talking about. That pressure seriously lessened over the time.

    Now I don’t feel any pressure at all. Which is good, as I don’t have that much money and I can’t be spending it all on books! πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you, I TOTALLY feel this way. I see all the books that book bloggers buy and I’m like “How??!!” I’m so jealous that people can afford so many books, haha. I pretty much exclusively buy used books, except if it’s part of a series I’m obsessed with or something. I also love library books. I often post pictures of books on Instagram and I’m always kinda self-conscious that most of them have library bar codes on them. πŸ˜› But ah well! I love the library, what can I say? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I’m not the kind of person that feels pressured really but to be honest, I don’t think that you should either! It’s 100% your choice and I love going to the library. Most books I only buy because they’re cheap and at a book sale because we all know that books can get expensive. And who says library books are cool?! To me they are πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Great post πŸ™‚ I do agree that most people tend to post pics of books they own and there is an expectation that others will automatically want to purchase the newest hot release. I think it is partially because library books tend to not look as flash in photos (barcodes, wear-and-tear). Although I think it’s more of an unconscious pressure than something intentional by book bloggers. I’m on a total book buying ban this year, as we’ve just had a baby and are now on one income for a bit. This is actually working well as I got heaps of books for Christmas and we have a wonderful library nearby! I’m feel proud that I can save money for my family in this way. (Please excuse any spelling/grammar mistakes as it’s 5am and I’ve just fed the baby).

    Liked by 1 person

  9. To me buying my books started out of necessity, I’m dutch but I prefer to read in the original language if I speak it so my shelves are laden with E=english books which I have to buy because my library’s selection of english books sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This post is brilliant, your right, and I’ve never thought about this throughly. I myself, love buying books, I have for a long while now, but I never considered the affect that book hauls and all that kind of stuff does to others. People shouldn’t have to think that they have to do something to fit in.

    Being a book lover doesn’t mean you need a bookshelf, and it doesn’t mean you have to spend any money at all. ITs about loving what you read and loving books in general – whether it be a library book or your own.

    Buy books if you want to buy books or else, don’t. You’re awesome either way πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I guess my thing is more on the pressure of having the latest releases as soon as possible. To read and review it so that you can get ahead or at least have your review out there along with everyone else.

    Confession: I’ve never checked out a book from the library. Ever. And that’s awful coming from a former Library Science major haha. Personally, I don’t mind library copies. If e-books are acceptable, why not library books? I talked about it in one of my posts that I like *buying* former library copies because they come wrapped in plastic.

    But I digress. After watching a handful of booktube videos, I kind of see what you mean. I don’t see them booktubers holding up library copies. Always the shiny brand new hard back copies.

    Great topic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

