TAG: The Dimsum Tag

The Dim Sum Book Tag

(This tag was created by Joey of ThoughtsandAfterthoughts and Jenna of ReadingwithJenna. Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.)

Thank you Cat of TheBookFinch for nominating moi to do this tag. Dimsum is love, dimsum is life.

HERE ARE SOME RULES TO DEVOUR THIS TAG:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  • Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions.
  • Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun.
  • Food coma.

TEA:
A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF HOT BUT QUICKLY TURNED COLD.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Meh. It started really good for me but when the love triangle kicked in, it went downhill after that. Idiots started coming out and it ruined a should-have one of  my best reads in 2015

CHIU CHOW DUMPLING:
A BOOK THAT FEATURES ELEMENTS OF LAND AND SEA.

Rolling in the Deep by Mira Grant

Monster mermaids, man. One of the best sci-fi books that I’ve read.A story about a documentary gone wrong in the middle of the Marianas Trench.

RICE NOODLE ROLL:
A FAVOURITE MULTILAYERED CHARACTER YOU’VE READ (I.E. TRAITS? SKILLS? MORALLY AMBIGUOUS?)

The Dragon in Uprooted

His character reminds me of Sherlock Holmes (Benedict Cumberbatch) when it comes to rudeness and giving shade. He’s arrogant, downright patronizing and very very sexy. I love his character development and the ending of the book was perfect.

SHRIMP DUMPLING:
A BOOK WITH A TRANSPARENT BLURB THAT GIVES THE STORY AWAY.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alexander

Ehh. I like this book but I just hoped that it didn’t give away too much in the blurb. I could have been surprised with some good things, but I didn’t. Because guess who spoiled me in it? The blurb.

STEAMED BBQ PORK BUNS:
A BOOK THAT IS FLUFFY ON THE OUTSIDE BUT PACKS A PUNCH OF FLAVOUR (E.G. MESSAGE? DEPTH? CONTROVERSY?)

Wonder by R.J Palacio

Don’t be fooled just because this book is a middle grade book. This has one hell of a punch and one of the greatest books that has ever been published.

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school – until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

CHICKEN FEET:
A BOOK WITH DIVIDED OPINIONS.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I’m not really a fan of this because sparkling vampires are not in my top list of fantasy but a lot of my friends loved this book.

LOTUS-WRAPPED STICKY RICE:
A BOOK YOU’VE RECEIVED/GIVEN THAT WAS NICELY PACKAGED

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

I love the cover of this book and my friend Daniel gave this to me.Even though I rated this 3 stars, the cover is still beautiful enough for it to find its place in my book shelf.

EGG CUSTARD TART:
A BOOK THAT USES SIMPLE INGREDIENTS AND CLICHÉS BUT EXECUTES IT PERFECTLY

Sincerely, Carter by Whitney Garcia Williams

You can’t get more cliche than best friends-turn-to-lovers but this book is so cute and simple.

MANGO PUDDING WITH EVAPORATED MILK:
ANY BOOK RECOMMENDATION AND BEVERAGE/SNACK THAT’S A WINNING COMBINATION

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

 It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives.But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations. As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer, she discovers harsh revelations about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love. Awaiting the judge’s decree, it becomes clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but also dangerous. And when the whole story comes out, reality is more shocking than anyone could ever imagine…

 

I feel like Mango Float and Dangerous Girls is the best combination for me. Tropical trip with a dash of murder.Yum.

FRIED SESAME BALLS:
A BOOK COVER WITH EMBOSSED TEXT/DESIGN YOU JUST LOVE TO RUN YOUR FINGERS OVER

Can’t think of something.

DIM SUM STEAM CART:
THE TYPE OF CARRYING BAG YOU USE TO BRING BOOKS AROUND

I read on my phone and  tablet whenever I went out. Books are heavy, man.

I tag!

Cath of Trust in Words

Matti of Bookly Hallows

Kelly of Stellar Scrutiny

Stefanie of Your Daughter’s Bookshelf

And you if you wanna do this tag. ♥

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “TAG: The Dimsum Tag

Leave a Reply

