Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite recommended books.

oie_QT65sxgKZcFWHey guys! It’s Yasmin. Today I’m doing Top 5 Wednesday, a meme created by Ginger Reads Lainey (on YT). Click here if you want to join and make your own posts! ^-^

This week’s topic is your top 5 favorite books that were recommended to you.

5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
16143347
My aunt, who lives in Malaysia, recommended me this book a few years ago, but up until a few months ago, I never read it. I would give this book 4 1/2 stars. I thought it was a fantastic book. I know a lot of people hated it, but I really enjoyed it.

 

 

 

4. The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
12432220
One of my best friends sister recommended me this book, so I went and got it from the library. I ended up flying through it in one sitting, and loving it! It’s a very middle grade book, but the ending is so brilliant. I gave this 5/5 stars on GR’s. 🙂

 

 

 

3. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
28187
My 5th grade teacher pushed this book onto me so many times and I, for some reason, didn’t read it until the end of 6th grade. I really should’ve listened to that teacher earlier. I love the Percy Jackson series. It’s probably on my top 10 favorites ever.

 

 

 

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth
divergent
I read Divergent quite a while ago, and I’m proud to say that I beat the bookish community to the series. A family friend of mine gave me the first book and he told me that it was a great book and I should read it. Divergent is probably the series that really got me into reading. I even read it before the Harry Potter series.

 

 

 

1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
harry_potter_and_the_sorcerers_stone

If we’re being real here, I thought the Harry Potter series was stupid for a really long time. My dad had been telling me to read it, but I still thought it was stupid. Boy was I wrong. Thanks Dad for my childhood in more ways than one.

 

 

 

 

That’s it! What’s your favorite book that someone recommended you? Leave a comment below!

Also, if you haven’t already heard, I made another more personal blog, A Book Unicorn, and it would mean a lot if you could follow it. ^-^

PERFECT (1)

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite recommended books.

  1. I will forgive you for your misguided opinion of Harry Potter. :}

    I’m glad Divergent is what got you interested in the world of reading. The series lost its luster after the second book for me, personally, but I’m so glad thousands of people have enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha I thought Harry Potter was stupid as a kid too, but that was before I barely even knew what it was about. All the merch that popped up all over the toy stores annoyed me and I was a little hipster kid, all “I’M NOT GOING TO LIKE STUPID HARRY POTTER JUST BECAUSE EVERYONE ELSE DOES.” And what do you know, it became my life… 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just finished Harry Potter this month! The movies used to scare me a little as a child and then as I grew up, I just never got interested. I mean, so he has a lightning scar – whats so awesome about the kid? But then I was pushed and everybody was just about RAVING and I was (and am) currently seeing Harry and his friends pop up EVERYWHERE, so…. I read it. And IT WAS SO GOOD.

    Anyway, thats my little story 😄

    Percy Jackson is similar – everyone loves it and I think I should be picking it up too! I also have been wanting to read We Were Liars by E. Lockhart for a while now, I read the Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks and it was really good (recommend!) so I’ve been wanting to check out some of the author’s other stuff 🙂

    I’ve read Divergent and that was an okay read for me but I’m glad you really enjoyed it (ya little bookie ‘hipster’ 😛 ) I’ll definitely be looking into the false prince!

    Great post by the way! Really enjoyable 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

